Last night, there was awesomeness.  Last night, we went swimming and we barbecued.  Last night,  we did those things at Nick’s parents’ house and were accompanied by KATIE AND JESSE!  They live about five minutes away from us, but we rarely see them and I’m not sure why.  But, these last two days I’ve seen Katie, and last night was so much fun and very amusing, because Katie is a total card.  I have to confess that i don’t quite know the exact definition of “card” in this context, but I have heard/read it used in a similar context about other people (okay maybe in 19th century novels) and I think I got it right.  We jumped into the pool which was a stunningly perfect 81 degrees, and goofed around and Jesse tried to push Katie in, but she shrieked and pinched him and giggled nervously and then I think she pushed him in.  So I charged at her and suddenly pop!  She was in the water.  Katie doesn’t subscribe to sound effect norms.  don’t box her in!  We even attempted to have a chicken fight, but I kept laughing so hard I fell off of Nick straight forward and drowned him repeatedly by clenching his poor neck with my thighs and holding him underwater.  Eventually the game ended with both of us girls pushing each other in the boobs (they were closest) and falling into the water one after the other.  Katie and Jesse fell first, though.  So we won.  Then Nick got frostbite so he started up the barbecue.  Seriously, when it’s his idea, he loves being the host, making the food, all that jazz.  He glows like a pregnant woman, he’s so proud of himself.

During and after our late dinner we talked about shoes and ships and sealing wax, and almost went on to cabbages and kings but got distracted by sharing drama horror stories, like the time I got unfriended on Facebook.  They talked about the time they got excommunicated.  I am ashamed to say that I believed what I was told about them during that time, and didn’t even think of talking to them and hearing from their own lips what had happened.  It was hours of good talk, and I killed another few mosquitoes on Katie’s boob and arm and leg.  Most of all, I felt vindicated.  Here were people that didn’t think my actions, reactions, and choices were melodramatic or jaded, they even agreed with me.  They told me I wasn’t crazy.  They told me that they understood my decisions.  They told me that I was okay, and that was invaluable.  I started out thinking I’d just ooze wonder and joy at how great it was to spend a large amount of time with these people, and now here I am getting all emotional that they were so kind.  It got dark and late, so we had to go.

Oh!  In the middle of it all, Katie and I were talking about something and the menfolks were talking about something else, but when we rejoined their conversation Jesse said something that Katie had phrased differently shortly previous.  She said, “Hey, I just said that!  We totally agree!”  He said, “Wow, that’s neat.  We should date!  Do you want to go out sometime?”  She looked at her left hand and said, “Yeah!  Oh, I’ll have to ask my husband.”  He said, “It’s okay; I’m married, too. ”  They’re silly together, and funny, and I probably laughed harder at that little interchange than I should have.  But that’s just how they are, HILARIOUS.  I end up helplessly giggling about 85% of the time I am in Katie’s company.  She has a great range of facial expressions and vocal intonations that seem made for comedic purpose.  Jesse has gotten more silly and lighthearted with her, he’ll initiate jokes and go along with whatever bit she’s doing at the time.  I felt rested after the evening with them, and I think that’s remarkable because I had been splashing around in the pool for long enough to exhaust me.  So, at least 5 minutes.

When we were home and in bed and getting dozy, Nick cuddled up to me and whispered a question.  Apparently, the intense conversations about drama earlier in the evening had really shaken him up, and he was trying to reconcile what he remembered of those people with what he now knew of them.  I count times like these as beautiful not because my husband is deeply upset, but because he talks to me and wants me to help.  And I love helping.  I get to cuddle closer (although I’m not sure that’s a physical possibility) and twirl his hair and tell him that he is a good man, and he is honest and truthful.  That those people made their own choices and their behaviors are not reflections of him, nor does it speak poorly of him to have believed them for what they said they were.  I may have said other things but I was pretty tired and mostly asleep so I don’t remember.

