Today is the in between day, as it has been for my entire remembrance.  It is the day in between my little sister’s birthday and mine.  In past years, the week between Christmas and New Year’s was exhausting.  We’d have Christmas, a day of rest (which, post-divorce, was often spent traveling to be with dad), LS’s birthday, the in-between day, MY BIRTHDAY!!!, two days’ rest, then New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day, quite obviously back to back.  New Year’s Day is the day of extended family Christmas, therefore one must be functioning before 10 am that morning.
The in-between days were not fun, for me.  I knew they were necessary breathers in an explosion of celebrations, but as a kid, celebrations every day seems like a pretty good idea.  And while I’m on the subject of birthdays, did I tell you all about my little sister’s belief that, since her birthday came first, she was older?  Yes, she was quite young at the time, but anyone who knows my temper and need for attention and rightness knows exactly how much that would annoy me.  And how much I would flip out, demanding the truth be known!  Spread it through all the towns, to all the people of the nations, I’m totally the older sister and she’s being a jerk.
