I really like books.  I’ve been going on a book rampage lately, going to the library weekly and checking out 4 books at a go.  It’s great fun but it doesn’t lend well to writing.  I’m trying my darnedest not to give a summary of all the books I’ve read, but I just love them so much!  The Enchanted Forest Chronicles by Patricia Wrede are one of my favorite series.  She writes characters that play typical roles, or are born into them, but that don’t want to do what is expected just because it’s expected.  A princess volunteers to work for a dragon because it’ll be interesting (and better than marriage to some traditional prince), a witch doesn’t hunch over and cackle because she’s short so she needs to use all her height, and cackling hurts her throat.  Plus, she has too many cats.  They’re all such great fun!  I want to be friends with them all, I want them to teach me to make cherries jubilee and magic.  Also I’d like a fireproofing spell.  It just seems like it’d come in handy, don’t you think?

Another series is the Alexia Tarabotti Series by Gail Carriger.  It’s steampunk, so it’s a combination of Victorian times and dress with steampowered machinery, dirigibles, and parasols that turn into machine guns.  Well, maybe not machine guns.  But it combines all the propriety and manners of Victorian society and smushes it with oil and gears and cogs and wheels, just a bit of magic, and in the case of these books, vampires, werewolves, and ghosts.  I laughed aloud many a time while reading these, and was most unhappy to note there are more coming out – unhappy because that means I will have to wait.  Dearest Amy, authoress extraordinaire, has reviewed these books Here and she did a right fine job of it, too.

Now if you’ll excuse me (and you’d better) I have book 2 to finish.

